Pain, pain go away… come again, no wait… just go away!

They say three days out of surgery tends to be the hardest. I hope that’s right because today sucks. I always thought I had a high tolerance for pain, but geez. I kinda feel like a big baby.

I woke up this morning to an intense pain and throbbing that went from my Achilles all the way up my calf. That meant my nerve block was no longer working. Man, that nerve block was great! I felt nothing the day of and after my surgery. It was wonderful. Of course, it came lose a day early. Just my luck. 

I took out the catheter since it wasn’t numbing my leg. A friend of mine that’s a nurse said better to take it out than risk infection. I do NOT want an infection or anything else that’s going to make this process harder. 

The worst part… I. Feel. Disgusting. I want to take a bath or a shower. I want to change my clothes. I want to feel clean. So I ventured upstairs. Yeah, you heard me. I went up the stairs for the first time. I don’t think I’ll be doing that again soon unless I can take a bath. That was terrible. Before surgery, I’d hop myself right up there because it was no problem and my Achilles didn’t really hurt. This time I thought I’d vomit every time I took a hop. 

But I did change my clothes, put on some lotion and deodorant, brushed my teeth, and put on a little makeup. These are the little things we take for granted. I felt a lot better after that. And the trip down the stairs was not nearly as bad as going up the steps. 

I’m digging the scooter, too. Holy cow. If you have a foot or leg injury… you need this in your life! I was lucky enough to find someone that let me borrow theirs and it is a God send! And don’t think for a second I care if you call me an old granny on this thing. Shew, I’m an OG ridin’ dirty! 


What is really hard is that life doesn’t stop when your injured. My oldest son had a basketball tournament out of town this weekend so my husband had to be the driver for everything- taking kids places, getting groceries, running errands, spending the weekend going back and forth from Louisville. Sucks not being able to drive and how this is going to work for 12 weeks is beyond me. I absolutely hate missing out on their stuff. I’m hoping by next weekend I’ll be able to venture out to watch them play. We’ll see. 

In the meantime, I’ve watched more tv this week than I have all year. I’m halfway through the season of Stranger Things and I’m almost done reading Don’t you Cry. I have downloaded so many games on my phone it’s ridiculous. Facebook, Instagram, and Snapchat have been distractions but are now getting boring, too. 

However, I am so blessed with all the people in my life. So many have called, texted, messaged, brought food, snacks, movies… you name it! The people who truly care about you are always there when you need them most. And while I absolutely hate for people to spend their time and energy on me, it is very much appreciated. 

So I have forced myself to rest and will continue to do so for the next two weeks. I’m going to take it easy, try not to overdo things, and make sure my wound heals so the stictches can come out and I get my cast before going back to work. I think then I’ll feel a lot more comfortable about going back to my normal life of work, kids’ games, crossfit, and maybe a night out… a night out: ah, that sounds good. 💞 

Author: Kristy

I'm a wife, mom of 3, teacher, and avid crossfitter recovering from a ruptured Achilles' tendon.

Leave a Reply

