Not for the squeamish

Today I had my two week post-op appointment. Let me just start by saying I’m a really big nerd and the weeks of watching Grey’s Anatomy has me convinced I should have been a surgeon. So let’s talk about what I expected when I went. I expected an incision that went up and down my tendon. I was expecting to be all swollen around my  foot and ankle. I was expecting blood and lots of stitches. 

Not. At. All. My incision is awesome! It’s tiny and lateral across my tendon. I only had three stitches if that tells you how small the incision is. I was amazed. Of course I had to take a pic so if your squeamish, you might keep scrolling. 


Isn’t that awesome? The best part is because it’s so small it makes the wound healing process a lot faster. Not much swelling at all either! That made for a great visit!

He did talk to me a lot about what to expect in this whole process. First, he said he wanted to cast my foot because he had more control over my foot position and the wound would heal better. When you have a repaired achilles’, your foot has to be positioned with toes down. This is to keep the tendon from being pulled while healing. I will wear this nice, pretty red cast for three weeks. 


After that, I move into a boot. I will have wedges in my boot keeping my foot pointed downward and gradually decrease the height of those until I am neutral. He told me the 6-12 week period was the most critical time for most patients. He said after the 6 weeks, I would begin the physical therapy to start rehabilitating the tendon. 

Here’s where the heart sinks… how long until I’m fully recovered… back to 100%? A year. Yeah… you read that correctly. It’s amazing though… three weeks ago I would have cried. I would have felt bad and been so defeated. And while it still sucks, I’m okay with it. It is what it is. I just want to heal and I’m not going to rush anything that could cause a setback. 

This is a long recovery… but I’ve been blessed to find others who have had the same injury and a support group that has been a wonderful resource. My family has been amazing… my poor husband has had to drive all over kingdom come and is never home… I mean just this week he has been to Indiana three times and Cincinatti twice! Gotta love AAU season. My kids have been great about helping out with housework. My dad is taking me places all the time since my husband’s on basketball duty… I couldn’t ask for better friends and family through this whole process. Things like this really make you realize who is important in your life and who will always be there when you need them. 

Author: Kristy

I'm a wife, mom of 3, teacher, and avid crossfitter recovering from a ruptured Achilles' tendon.

Leave a Reply

