Don’t blink.

Seriously, don’t do it. You’ll miss everything. I remember when I was little and I would hear adults talk about how time flies and it would be Christmas before you know it! I also remember thinking they were crazy because it felt like forever. 

Now, I’m 36 with three kids and I get it. I understand what they meant. Time does fly and you can’t blink because before you know it, 15 years have gone by and your oldest child is going to prom. 

I never cared when my kids went to kindergarten. Frankly, I wanted to punch all the moms that cried when they dropped their kids off. Sorry, if you were one of them, but while you were crying, I was in the corner doing a happy dance cause I just made an extra $500 a month not having to pay for childcare! 

Where does time go?

Yeah, I’m that mom. When they went to middle school… no big deal. I actually enjoy watching every single stage of their personalities as they become older. It wasn’t until this year that my emotional side kicked in. Freshman. High school. Varsity. ACT. Prom. 

Those are scary words to me. Not because I worry about him. He’s a super, awesome kid. I’m sure he’ll make mistakes along the way. God knows I did. More than I’d like to count. It’s none of that though that causes me to get emotional. It’s the word, four

Why, four? That’s how many years I had left at the beginning of his freshman year. So this weekend, when I helped him get his tux on for prom, a series of thoughts and floods of emotions ran through my head. I was standing there helping him put on his tux and I realized, it wasn’t the word four that scared me now… it was three. His freshman year has almost come to an end. And here I was, helping him get ready for his first prom. 

In less than a year, I’ll be teaching him how to drive. We’ve already started that process some and you want to talk about scary! I may have crapped my pants when he asked me which pedal was the gas and which was the brake. 

Three years. Where did the last fifteen go? We had him young. I was 21 and my hisband 22. We were both still in college and he was the last thing we planned on. However, he was the best thing that ever happened to both of us. But here we were… fifteen years later… and all I could think about was the number three. 

I can’t imagine our house without him. I don’t want to! I think about every single memory and gosh, there are so many good ones. And boy, do I feel for my friends that are graduating their fist child this year. Why does time have to go by so fast? 

It was later Saturday night as he was at prom that I looked at this picture of me putting on his boutoneer. I kept thinking as I looked at this picture, someday, I would be doing this again before he marries the love of his life. I don’t EVEN want to imagine that. I always jokingly told my boys they didn’t ever need a girlfriend because they were drama and all they needed was me. I’m like the mama on Waterboy… “mama said girls are the devil.”

It’s just all too much. So why write all this? Here’s my piece of advice to you young mamas. Don’t blink. Don’t take one minute or one second for granted because you don’t get this precious time back. You don’t get do overs. You don’t have a time machine. We sacrifice so much for our kids. The amount of time and money I’ve spent on my kids is probably astounding. However, when they are gone… I’ll have all the time in the world. Time that I’ll probably wish I still had with them at home. I want to make sure that in the next three years, when he takes off for college, he knows how much I loved him and how lucky I am to be his mom. 

Photo by Christy Lee Photography

Author: Kristy

I'm a wife, mom of 3, teacher, and avid crossfitter recovering from a ruptured Achilles' tendon.

One thought on “Don’t blink.”

Leave a Reply

